Article detail

Dinesh wins Surya Nepal NPGA Match Play title

Dinesh wins Surya Nepal NPGA Match Play title

Kathmandu, Dinesh Prajapati won the Surya Nepal NPGA Match Play, the third event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2022-23, at the Royal Nepal Golf Club on Thursday.

Seventh-ranked Dinesh defeated 13th ranked Ramesh Adhikari 7&6 in the 36-hole final match. With the victory, Dinesh claimed his maiden major title in the Tour and received winner's cheque of Rs 60,000. Runner-up Ramesh got Rs 42,000.

Dinesh lost the first hole but he bounced back to take 4-hole lead in the first nine holes, while he doubled the lead after the completion of 18 holes. After the lunch break, Ramesh reduced the deficit to four holes by winning the 19th, 20th, 21st and 22nd holes. Dinesh won the 23rd but Ramesh again took the 24th and 25th holes to cut the deficit to three holes.

But Dinesh won the next two holes to restore five-hole lead after completion of 27 holes. After sharing the 28th hole, Dinesh won next two holes to complete the victory.

Earlier, eighth ranked Dhana Bahadur Thapa beat No 10 Bhuwan Kumar Rokka in first extra hole to finish third. The match went to playoff after both pros were tied on regulation 18 holes. Dhana earned Rs 32,000 and Bhuwan got Rs 24,000.

Top 16 pros in Order of Merit of Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2021-22 qualified to take part in the Match Play but the PGA Nepal allowed players up to top 20 as four pros are out of the country.

The tournament, organised by PGA Nepal under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd, carried a cash purse of Rs 250,000. Four losing quarter-finalists Sukra Bahadur Ra, Bhuvan Nagarkoti, Jayaram Shrestha and Rabi Khadka got Rs 11,000 each, while the eight pros who were eliminated from first round Tanka Bahadur Karki, Sanjok Moktan, Krishna Man Rajbahak, Pradeep Kumar Lama, Sanjay Lama, Surya Prasad Sharma, Bal Bhadra Rai and Rame Magar received Rs 6,000 each.

Marketing Manager of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd Keshav Pradhan and Brand Manager Bidur Raj Adhikari handed over the prizes to the winners. The fourth event of the Tour, Surya Nepal Western Open will be held at the Himalayan Golf Course in Pokhara from January 22-25.

Write A Comment

Please Login to comment.